Home Top books Susan Hill: A Journey Through Mystery and Thrills

Susan Hill: A Journey Through Mystery and Thrills

by Assessor

Publication Order of Simon Serrailler Books

Publication Order of The Woman in Black Books (with Martyn Waites)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Children’s Books

Publication Order of Picture Books

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Dick King-Smith Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Anthologies

Susan Hill, a renowned English author, has made significant contributions to the mystery and thriller genres. With a writing career spanning over five decades, Hill has not only excelled in fiction and literature but has also explored non-fiction and children’s books. Born in Scarborough, North Yorkshire in 1942, Susan Hill has garnered numerous awards for her outstanding literary contributions.

One of her notable works, ‘I’m the King of the Castle’, earned her the prestigious Somerset Maugham Award in 1971. Recognizing her services to English literature, Susan Hill was appointed as the Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) in 2012. Hill’s passion for literature and theater blossomed during her childhood, and she pursued her education at Scarborough Convent School. Later, due to her father’s job transfer, she attended Barr’s Hill School for girls in Coventry, where she further developed her love for English, Latin, History, and French. Susan obtained her English degree from King’s College, London. Remarkably, she wrote her first novel before graduating, which was published by Hutchinson during her first year at university.

Read more:   The Dark Tome of Evil - Dungeon Master's Manual

In 1975, Susan Hill married Stanley Wells, a Shakespeare scholar, and they have two daughters named Jessica Ruston and Clemency. Recently, Hill has embarked on her journey as a publisher, establishing her own publishing house, ‘Long Barn Books’, which aims to release at least one fictional book annually. Throughout her life, Susan Hill has remained faithful to Anglicanism.

Susan Hill’s exceptional novels and literature have garnered her a multitude of awards and accolades. She received the Whitbread Novel Award in 1972 for her novel ‘The Bird of Night’ and the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize for ‘The Albatross’ in the same year. Hill’s captivating children’s novels earned her the Nestle Smarties Book Prize in 1988. Known for her unique gothic writing style, Susan Hill’s ghost stories have been adapted into successful plays running in London’s West End since 1987. Her widely acclaimed novel, ‘The Woman in Black’, was also adapted into a television series in 1989 and a commercially successful film by Hammer Film Productions in 2012.

In 2004, Susan Hill embarked on a crime novel series featuring the beloved character ‘Simon Serrailler’. The series, consisting of seven novels, revolves around the mysterious disappearances in the town of Lafferton and the ensuing police investigations. Hill’s skillful character development has introduced readers to a host of compelling personalities. Let’s explore some of the key characters depicted in the series:

  1. ANGELA RANDALL: Angela, a reclusive 53-year-old woman, vanishes during her morning jog near The Hill, a local landmark. Her employer, Carol Ashton, demands a thorough police investigation, emphasizing the gravity of Angela’s disappearance.

  2. SIMON SERRAILLER: Simon Serrailler, the series’ protagonist, holds the rank of Detective Chief Inspector and serves as the commanding officer of Sergeant Freya Graffham. He is also the brother of Dr. Cat Deerbon.

  3. DR. CAT DEERBON: Dr. Cat Deerbon, married to Chris, practices as a General Practitioner (G.P) in Lafferton.

  4. FREYA GRAFFHAM: Freya, a newly appointed Detective Sergeant in Lafferton, transfers from the Metropolitan Police. She assumes the responsibility of investigating the missing persons under the command of Detective Chief Inspector Simon Serrailler. During her investigation, Freya unravels the mysterious purchases Angela made for an unknown man before her disappearance.

  5. DEBBIE PARKER: Debbie, a 20-year-old grappling with depression, weight issues, and acne, experiences a positive change after seeking guidance from a spiritual leader named Dava. While jogging on The Hill one morning, she also vanishes without a trace.

  6. IRIS CHATER: Iris, an elderly lady grieving a loss, is the next to disappear. Prior to her vanishing, she had sought solace in spiritual meetings.

Read more:   Seven Fascinating Books to Discover About 9/11 and Its Aftermath

The series commenced with ‘The Various Haunts of Men’ in 2004, which masterfully weaves suspense and thrill into the story. The plot unravels with a woman disappearing on a foggy morning in the tranquil surroundings near The Hill. However, her disappearance goes unreported, as the people of Lafferton frequently vanish for various reasons. As more individuals disappear from the peaceful town, a growing sense of unease pervades the community. Enter Freya Graffham, a dedicated, compassionate detective who is assigned to investigate these disappearances under the command of Detective Chief Inspector Simon Serrailler. Simon, an enigmatic personality with a penchant for unraveling mysteries, holds the key to the truth. The novel takes readers on a gripping journey filled with twists and turns until the killer is revealed. Critics praised Hill’s crime debut, describing it as joyous and featuring a terrific ending. The novel drew readers in with its well-researched narration and captivating storytelling.

Following the success of ‘The Various Haunts of Men’, Susan Hill continued her crime series with ‘The Pure in Heart’ in 2006. Set in the still-peaceful English cathedral town of Lafferton during springtime, this haunting installment recounts the harrowing abduction of a young boy waiting for his school bus. Additionally, a disabled young woman teeters between life and death, desperately seeking help. Hill’s novel delves into the dark underbelly of Lafferton, challenging the local police department to restore peace to the town. ‘The Pure in Heart’ received rave reviews for its suspenseful and thrilling content, solidifying its place as an excellent crime novel.

Susan Hill’s extraordinary writing has captivated readers around the world, leaving them eagerly awaiting her next release. From mystery and thrills to the supernatural and beyond, Hill’s literary prowess shines through in each and every one of her works. Through her imaginative storytelling, she transports readers to worlds both mysterious and familiar, evoking a range of emotions along the way. If you have yet to embark on a Susan Hill adventure, now is the perfect time to delve into her captivating novels.

Read more:   7 Best Catholic Books on Purgatory

To learn more about Susan Hill and her remarkable literary journey, visit Ratingperson.

Related Posts